248

by Violet

That warm feeling in your soul when you’re just beginning to fall in love with someone.

The impatience for you to wake up in the mornings because I’ve missed you after all that sleep. Trivial things like remembering my drink order, watching me struggle to decide between two options and ordering the forfeited one for yourself so I can have both. Reaching your hand behind to grab mine when we cross the road. Kissing me at the intersection while we wait for the lights. Winking at me in the elevator when strangers intrude. Taking me in your arms possessively and declaring: ‘mine‘. I am still in awe at how good it feels to be ‘yours‘.

Digging through the past for stories not skeletons because I’m curious at how you became yourself. Putting up with my childish antics and finding them endearing rather than irritating, promising to let me take advantage of this honeymoon phase for as long as I can. Accidentally calling me ‘darling’ and rushing to defend your mistake, insisting it was meant sarcastically. I let you pretend.

Falling in love to the same song with a different person, because there is cruelty in romance. So this is what it feels like to fall level headed, no butterflies in my stomach but only a calculated passion, reinforcing the suspicion that this is where I belong, what I’ve always wanted. The freedom to let go and fall, trusting you to catch me every time. We’ve made our share of mistakes, the tragedy of meeting the right person at the wrong time. We’ve tasted betrayal before, but it hasn’t left us bitter. I’ve heard of love like this before, lets make it better.

